(Watch) Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan rattle South Africa with seven quick wickets in first ODI

South Africa failed to read the line and length of Arshdeep Singh, who dismissed four batters in the first ODI of tbe series. He didn’t allow two batters to open their accounts while other two were undone cheaply.

Reeza Hendricks (0), Rassie van der Dussen (0), Tony de Zorzi (28) and Heinrich Klaasen (6) were dismissed by the left-arm pacer.

Avesh Khan also showed his talent, sending three batters back to the dressing room.

Aiden Markram (12), Wiaan Mulder (0) and David Miller (2) fell to Avesh with just 65 runs on the board.

Earlier, Aiden Markram won the toss and elected to bat first.

Left-arm pacer Nandre Burger makes his ODI debut, after playing his first international T20 in the last game at the Wanderers.

For India, star batters Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are also missing in action. Lokesh Rahul is the stand-in captain and leads a young crop of Indian players.

Sai Sudharsan, 22, makes his ODI debut for India. Shreyas Iyer also returns after sitting out the T20 series, but is only available for the first ODI.

The Wanderers pitch was used for the preceding game and South Africa has again picked two spinners in Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi.

Gqeberha will host the second ODI on Tuesday, while the third ODI will be played in Paarl on Thursday.


South Africa: Reeza Hendricks, Tony de Zorzi, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram (captain), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Nandre Burger, Tabraiz Shamsi

India: Lokesh Rahul (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Shreyas Iyer, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar

In the first ODI between South Africa and India, South Africa struggled against the bowling of Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan. Arshdeep Singh took four wickets, dismissing Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Tony de Zorzi, and Heinrich Klaasen. Avesh Khan also impressed by taking three wickets, sending Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, and David Miller back to the dressing room. South Africa won the toss and chose to bat first. Nandre Burger made his ODI debut for South Africa. For India, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were absent, with Lokesh Rahul leading the team. Sai Sudharsan made his ODI debut for India, and Shreyas Iyer returned to the team after sitting out the T20 series. The second ODI will be held in Gqeberha, and the third ODI will be played in Paarl. The line-ups for the teams were also provided.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *