Khel Ratna: Sports Ministry confirms Satwik, Chirag for Khel Ratna; Shami and 25 others for Arjuna award | More sports News

NEW DELHI: The Sports Ministry on Wednesday officially endorsed the nominations for the annual sports awards, confirming the prestigious Khel Ratna honour for badminton players Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty, along with the Arjuna award for 26 sports personalities, including fast bowler Mohammed Shami.
President Droupadi Murmu is set to confer the awards on these athletes at the Rashtrapati Bhavan on January 9.
Chirag and Satwik, both Asian Games gold medalists, World Championships bronze winners, and Commonwealth Games silver medalists, have been recognised for their outstanding achievements.
Meanwhile, 33-year-old Shami had an exceptional performance in the ODI World Cup, where India secured the runners-up position after losing to Australia in the final.
Shami emerged as the top wicket-taker in the World Cup, claiming 24 wickets in seven matches.
The athletes selected for this year’s Arjuna award include hockey players Krishan Bahadur Pathak and Sushila Chanu, archers Ojas Pravin Deotale and Aditi Gopichand Swami, boxer Mohammad Hussamuddin, chess player R Vaishali, golfer Diksha Dagar, shooters Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar and Esha Singh, wrestlers Antim Panghal and Sunil Kumar, paddler Ayhika Mukherjee and para archer Sheetal Devi, among others.
The athletes were nominated for the awards by a government panel on December 13.
The ministry also cleared five coaches for Dronacharya award in the regular category and three in life-time category.
The Dyan Chand award in the life-time category will be conferred to three persons.
Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar is the recipient of the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023, while Lovely Professional University, Punjab and Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra are the first and second runner-ups.
National Sports Awards are given every year to recognise and reward excellence in sports.
List of National Sports Award winners:
Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award for 2023: Chirag Shetty and Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy (badminton).
Arjuna Awards for 2023: Ojas Pravin Deotale (archery), Aditi Gopichand Swami (archery), Murali Sreeshankar (athletics), Parul Chaudhary (athletics), Mohameed Hussamuddin (boxing), R Vaishali (chess), Mohammed Shami (cricket), Anush Agarwalla (equestrian), Divyakriti Singh (equestrian dressage), Diksha Dagar (golf), Krishan Bahadur Pathak (hockey), Sushila Chanu (hockey), Pawan Kumar (kabaddi), Ritu Negi (kabaddi), Nasreen (kho-kho), Pinki (lawn bowls), Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar (shooting), Esha Singh (shooting), Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu (squash), Ayhika Mukherjee (table tennis), Sunil Kumar (wrestling), Antim (wrestling), Naorem Roshibina Devi (wushu), Sheetal Devi (para archery), Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy (blind cricket), Prachi Yadav (para canoeing).
Dronacharya Award (regular category)for outstanding coaches: Lalit Kumar (wrestling), RB Ramesh (chess), Mahaveer Prasad Saini (para athletics), Shivendra Singh (hockey), Ganesh Prabhakar Devrukhkar (mallakhamb).
Dronacharya Award (life-time category)for outstanding coaches: Jaskirat Singh Grewal (golf), Bhaskaran E (kabaddi), Jayanta Kumar Pushilal (table tennis).
Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime achievement: Manjusha Kanwar (badminton), Vineet Kumar Sharma (hockey), Kavitha Selvaraj (kabaddi).
Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023: Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (overall winner university); Lovely Professional University, Punjab (1st runner -up), Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra (2nd runner-up).
(With PTI Inputs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *